Winners 2003

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. George Schaller

Conservation Action Awards

President El Hadj Omar Bongo

Corporate Achievement Award

The Festival also gave its first Corporate Achievement Award to the Japanese broadcaster NHK, in recognition of its 50th anniversary of TV broadcasting.

Grand Teton Award—Best of Festival

The Cultured Ape Scorer Associates

Best Animal Behavior

Snake Killers of the Kalahari National Geographic

Best Children's

China Bear Special: Really Wild Show

BBC

Best Earth Sciences

Journey to the Center of the Earth Green Umbrella, Limited and Discovery Channel

Best Cinematography

Wild Africa: Mountains

Discovery Channel, BBC Cinematographers: Martyn Colbeck, Trevor de Kock, Justin Maguire

Best Editing

My Halcyon River BBC Editor: Nigel Buck

Best Environmental

Ape Hunters

BBC

Best Limited Series

Wild Africa Discovery Channel, BBC

Marion Zunz Newcomer

Flip Flotsam Etienne Oliff & Lucy Bateman

Best Nonbroadcast

Laboratory Rat: A Natural History

Oxford University

Best People and Animals

Pale Male

Frederic Lilien, FL Productions

Best Short

Deadly Sounds in the Silent World
The Whaleman Foundation

Best Music

Danger in Tiger Paradise
BBC, Animal Planet, Mike Birkhead
Associates Composer: David Mitcham

Best Achievement in Sound

Shark Battlefield

BBC, Discovery Channel

Sound Editor: Kate Hopkins, Dubbing Mixer: Martyn Harries

Best CGI/Animation

Monsters We Met: The Eternal Frontier

BBC, Animal Planet

Best Theatrical

Winged Migration
Sony Pictures Classics

Best Web Presentation

Florida's Springs: Protecting Nature's Gem

Fusionspark Media, Inc.

Best Writing

Temple of the Tigers: India's Bandhavgarh Wilderness

Icon Films Writer: Harry Marshall

Take Your Best Shot Competition

Martin Dohrn, for *Terminal Velocity*

Special Jury Award for tackling a notoriously tough subject in a courageous and compelling way

The State of the Planet with David Attenborough BBC and Discovery Channel

Special Jury Award to an individual with the passion to explore a complex, controversial, and important issue

Cost of Freedom Vanessa Schulz, 21st Paradigm

Michael Brinkman Emerging Filmmaker Award Recipients (sponsored in association with the Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festival by: Apple, Abel Cine Tech, Anton Bauer, Crawford Communications, Discovery, Dolby Laboratories, Fujinon, Granada Wild, LaserPacific Media, Panasonic, Pace Technology, Quantel, and Sony Electronics) Brad Markel—project (working title): Western Fires and Yellowstone's Amazing Rebirth John Shier—project (working title): Mazaalai, Ghost of the Gobi